American-size

Funny, but my first impression of America is that everything is so....American! Some American friends of mine have told me not to judge the country from Hollywood movies, and that I must go here to see what the States really is like. However, my impression was that - wow, it really is like in the movies. I guess if one has seen probably about a hundred or more American movies you are bound to see some more realistic ones too. But even the things I thought must have been an exaggeration is actually true. First of all yes, everything really is big here.
 
Just take a look at the road and the side walk!!
 
Oh yeah, I'm living in kind of countryside area near a school campus. This small city called Worcester is one hour with bus from Boston (two hours with train, why does the train take longer time? Makes no sense.) I think it's kind of like Torsby, a village in the countryside of Sweden (Värmland district), except that here everything is so much bigger. A bit too big actually, since there are hardly any people walking in the streets or who even hang out in the city area which brings me to the next topics. Americans really do drive everywhere. Even though they have such wide sidewalks, almost no one is using them. I asked around and was told that driving license takes about 1-2 weeks to get if you are over 19 years old. This is a huge difference from Sweden - where you have to practice driving for almost two years before you got a change to pass the driving test. It's no surprise then that you can drive in the State with a Swedish license but not in Sweden with only an American license.
 
The houses are really big too! I thought they only showed how rich people live in the movies, but seems like even middle class people have huuuge houses, at least in more countryside areas. Strangely, the windows are really small in contrast to the size of the house, which forces you to have lamps turned on even though it's in the middle of the day and the sun is shining bright. So inefficient, don't you agree? If they had bigger windows they could save more electricity.
 
 
Other than roads and houses, you got it right if you thought perhaps the food is big here too. Look at this, it's a hamburger for one person, but it it was enough for two people! (The hamburger is split in two in the picture)
 
The hamburger was really delicious by the way, which really makes one wonder how Mcdonald’s came to be popular around the world, it's nothing like these hamburgers! The side dish is soft pretzels. Americans loves pretzels but I don't understand why. Soft pretzels are just like ordinary hot dog bread with some salt on, and hard pretzels are like the Swedish salty sticks (salta pinnar). They have hard pretzels with bacon and cheese taste too, so I guess that's what makes it popular. Have any of you tried pretzels?
 
Even the potatoes are big here!!!
 
 
Alright that's it for this time, I will post some more pictures later on from my day trip in Boston. Next week I'm going to New York City woop woop! 
 
Cheers!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback